How Do I Get Certified?

The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) offers certifiacation in gerontological nursing.  Click on their main certification link at the bottom of this page to get general information about certification.  Below you will also find ANCC's guide to certification.

Types of Certification

There are three main categories for gerontological nursing certification from ANCC - one certification for RNs and two certification classes for advanced practice RNs:

  • Gerontological Nurse Specialist
  • Clinical Nurse Specialist in Gerontological Nursing
  • Gerontological Nurse Practitioner

You should determine the certification type you are looking for, then click the appropriate link below under Resources to find the ANCC pages that give you all the details about that type of certification.  You will also find information about how to sign up for a certification test, and be able to download the application.  The fees for certification are also listed on these pages.


Before you apply for certification, be sure you are eligible.  To be eligible for certification by the ANCC, a nurse must meet certain criteria.  A nurse must:
        *Hold a current license to practice as an RN
        *Have 2 years of practice as an RN
        *Have practiced 2,000 hours in the field of gerontology in the last 3 years
        *Have complted 30 hours of continuing education in the past 3 years